Port Louis - Marine Museum

Located on the Atlantic entrance of the Narrows, which controls the port of Lorient, the citadel of Port Louis is a fascinating site.

Rescue © National Maritime Museum / A.Fux

 

Rescue at sea and oceans treasures

The National Maritime Museum presents there a fine collection of boats, weapons and historical models. The course and its two thematic areas: rescue at sea and oceans treasures make it a museum pole of the first order.

The citadel of Port Louis, one of the most beautiful French coast, is an impressive building, a site to share marked by the events of Breton history of XVIe and XVIIe centuries. From its ramparts, offers visitors a unique view on Lorient harbor and the island of Groix. The museum space is boosted by two theme routes:

  • The first, unique in France, and particularly moving, is dedicated to the rescue. The first boats with sails and oars ocean tugs and helicopter, he recounts the exemplary brotherhood of the maritime world, it reflects the incredible courage of the men and the evolution of rescue techniques, objects, tools and memories, an exceptional piece of 1897 the Philippian Kerhallet and impressive audiovisual.
  • The area of ​​ocean treasures invites to a journey into the depths of the seas. The magnificent gift Franck Goddio, the significant funds Mauritius joined the old collections of the museum offered the rare opportunity to make a major hub on the theme of underwater archeology. Preliminary research in archives in search operations at the site, the visitor sets out to discover methods and advanced techniques. Soundscape and movies complete the immersion in abysmal universe.
 

The museum's collections

The Department of Conservation has to manage mission, study and enrichment of the Navy National Museum collections.

Learn More

Port Louis - History of the museum

The Citadel is an imposing building, marked by the events of Breton history of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

Learn More

Port Louis - Useful Information

October-April: every day: 13h30-18h. Closed on Tuesdays

Learn More

Port-Louis - Musée de la Marine

Située sur l’Atlantique à l’entrée du goulet qui commande le port de Lorient, la citadelle de Port-Louis est un site fascinant.

Sauvetage en mer © musée national de la Marine/A.Fux

 

Sauvetage en mer et trésors d’océans

Le musée national de la Marine y présente une belle collection d'embarcations, d'armes et de modèles historiques. Le parcours et ses deux espaces thématiques : sauvetage en mer et trésors d’océans en font un pôle muséal de premier ordre.

La citadelle de Port-Louis, l’une des plus belles des côtes françaises, est un édifice impressionnant, un site à part marqué par les événements de l’histoire bretonne des XVIe et XVIIe siècles. Du haut de ses remparts, s’offre aux visiteurs un panorama unique, sur la rade de Lorient et l’île de Groix. L’espace du musée est dynamisé par deux parcours à thèmes :

  • Le premier, unique en France, et particulièrement émouvant, est consacré au sauvetage en mer. Des premiers canots à voiles et avirons aux remorqueurs de haute mer et à l’héliportage, il raconte la fraternité exemplaire de l’univers maritime, il témoigne du courage incroyable des hommes et de l’évolution des techniques de secours, par des objets, outils et souvenirs, une pièce exceptionnelle de 1897 le Philippes de Kerhallet et des audiovisuels impressionnants.
  • L’espace trésors d’océans invite à un voyage dans les profondeurs des mers. Le magnifique don Franck Goddio, le significatif fonds Mauritius joints aux collections anciennes du musée ont offert la rare opportunité de réaliser un pôle d’envergure sur le thème de l’archéologie sous-marine. De la recherche préliminaire en archives aux opérations de fouille sur le site, le visiteur part à la découverte des méthodes et des techniques de pointe utilisées. Environnement sonore et films complètent cette immersion dans l’univers abyssal.
 

Les collections du musée

Le département de la Conservation a pour mission la gestion, l’étude et l’enrichissement des collections du musée national de la Marine.

En savoir plus

Port-Louis - Histoire du musée

La citadelle est un édifice imposant, marqué par les événements de l’histoire bretonne des XVIe et XVIIe siècles.

En savoir plus

Port-Louis - Informations pratiques

Mai-août : tous les jours : 10h-18h30. 

 

En savoir plus