Toulon - Raymond Depardon: 1962-1963, military photographer

exhibition au

Exhibition in Toulon

Famous for his photographic work, his cinematographic works and his many works in which he weaves a reflexive dialogue between text and image, Raymond Depardon is a total author, without boundaries or limits, a sensitive and committed witness of the times he passes through, territories that he roams and locals he
meet. Enriched by an early childhood journey at the family farm in Villefranche-sur-Saône, Raymond Depardon has often told stories, notably in his autobiography, La ferme du Garet (1995). Yet a fuzzy area remains: what precise memories does he retain of his military service?

At twenty, Raymond Depardon, freelancer for the Dalmas agency, has already been professionally well-known and regularly publishes in major national newspapers and news magazines: France-Soir, Paris Match, etc. During a report in Algeria, in 1960, he met military photographers of the newspaper Bled, who gave him the idea of ​​doing his service in the review of armies. Assigned to the Parisian editorial office of TAM (Terre Air Mer magazine) at the rank of brigadier
In July 1962, Raymond Depardon discovers a very free working atmosphere bringing together officers and conscripts from the world of arts and journalism.

On behalf of TAM, between the months of July 1962 and August 1963, Raymond Depardon undertakes a real military tour of France alongside the various units and photograph of the ground, the sky and the sea, thus achieving a panorama of the territory metropolitan, for training or sporting events, for corporate or institutional subjects.


At the height of a generation in uniform, Raymond Depardon delivers a sensitive inventory of the France of the 60 years, already marked by a soft distance and a consciousness of the territory which will be, years later, the signature of a great look.

The exhibition "Raymond Depardon: 1962-1963, Military Photographer" is an original creation, both by its content composed of photographs never seen since their appearance in the magazine TAM between 1962 and 1963 and also by its form, which will see the hanging prints specially made for the occasion.

Highlighting an unknown page of Raymond Depardon's career thanks to the exclusive presentation of a hundred of his photographs, the course is enriched with archival documents, films and audio-visual interviews, witnessing the creation of TAM and experience of military service.

The exhibition will be held first in Toulon and then in Paris at the Museum of the Armed Forces Health Service from 1er October 2019 to 30 January 2020.

More information on this double exhibition and its catalog on the dedicated website

© Raymond Depardon / TAM / ECPAD / Defense / BY 265-38

Organizers, partners

Useful information

Temporary exhibition of 17 May at 31 December 2019.

September - December: every day except Tuesday from 10h to 18h - exceptional opening on Tuesday 31 December, closing day of the exhibition.

Closed on December 25

Rates
Full price 6,50 € / Reduced price 5,50 €
The entrance ticket gives access to permanent collections and temporary exhibitions.

Information and reservations

Such. 04 22 42 02 01
toulon@musee-marine.fr

Toulon - Practical Information

From September to June the museum is open every day from 10h to 18h except Tuesday

Learn more

Toulon - Cultural programming - Exhibition

Visits, conferences, groups, outside the walls
Learn more

Toulon - visit-workshop around the temporary exhibition

On Sunday 17 November from 15h to 16h30
Learn more

Toulon - Conference Cycle

Conference around the exhibition Saturday 30 November
Learn more

Agenda museums

News Marine National Museums.

Programming in Toulon

Individual Program groups
Learn more

Toulon - Raymond Depardon : 1962-1963, photographe militaire

 

 
 

Exposition du au

Exposition à Toulon

 
 

Célèbre pour son oeuvre photographique, ses réalisations cinématographiques et ses nombreux ouvrages dans lesquels il tisse un dialogue réflexif entre texte et image, Raymond Depardon est un auteur total, sans frontières ni limites, un témoin sensible et engagé des époques qu’il traverse, des territoires qu’il arpente et des habitants qu’il
rencontre. Riche d’un parcours débuté enfant au sein de la ferme familiale à Villefranche-sur-Saône, Raymond Depardon s’est souvent raconté, notamment dans son autobiographie, La ferme du Garet (1995). Pourtant, une zone floue demeure: quels souvenirs précis conserve-t-il de son service militaire?

À vingt ans, Raymond Depardon, pigiste pour l’agence Dalmas, s’est déjà illustré professionnellement et publie régulièrement dans les grands quotidiens et magazines d’informations nationales: France-Soir, Paris Match, etc. Au cours d’un reportage en Algérie, en 1960, il rencontre des photographes militaires du journal Bled, qui lui donnent l’idée de faire son service au sein de la revue des armées. Affecté à la rédaction parisienne de TAM (Terre Air Mer magazine) au grade de brigadier
en juillet 1962, Raymond Depardon découvre une atmosphère de travail très libre rassemblant des officiers et des conscrits issus du monde des arts et du journalisme.

Pour le compte de TAM, entre les mois de juillet 1962 et d’août 1963, Raymond Depardon entreprend un véritable tour de France militaire aux côtés des différentes unités et photographie du sol, du ciel et de la mer, réalisant ainsi un panorama du territoire métropolitain, pour des entraînements ou des événements sportifs, pour des sujets de sociétés ou institutionnels.


Au diapason d’une génération en uniforme, Raymond Depardon délivre un inventaire sensible de la France des années 60, déjà empreint d’une douce distance et d’une conscience du territoire qui constitueront, des années plus tard, la signature d’un grand regard.

L’exposition « Raymond Depardon: 1962-1963, photographe militaire » est une création originale, à la fois par son contenu composé de photographies jamais vues depuis leur parution dans le magazine TAM entre 1962 et 1963 et également par sa forme, qui verra l’accrochage de tirages spécialement fabriqués pour l’occasion.

Mise en lumière d’une page inconnue de la carrière de Raymond Depardon grâce à la présentation exclusive d’une centaine de ses photographies, le parcours est enrichi de documents d’archives, de films et d’entretiens audiovisuels, témoins de la création de TAM et de l’expérience du service militaire. 

L'exposition se tiendra dans un premier temps à Toulon puis à Paris au Musée du service de santé des armées du 1er octobre 2019 au 30 janvier 2020.

Plus d'informations sur cette double exposition et sur son catalogue sur le site dédié 

 

© Raymond Depardon/TAM/ECPAD/Défense/PAR 265-38

 

Organisateurs, partenaires 

Informations pratiques

Exposition temporaire du 17 mai au 31 décembre 2019.

Septembre - décembre : tous les jours sauf le mardi de 10h à 18h - ouverture exceptionnelle le mardi 31 décembre, jour de clôture de l'exposition.

Fermé le 25 décembre

Tarifs 
Plein tarif 6,50 € / Tarif réduit 5,50 €
Le ticket d’entrée donne accès aux collections permanentes et aux expositions temporaires.

Informations et réservations

Tél. 04 22 42 02 01
toulon@musee-marine.fr

 

 

Toulon - Informations pratiques

De septembre à juin le musée est ouvert tous les jours de 10h à 18h sauf le mardi

En savoir plus

Toulon – Programmation culturelle- Exposition

Visites, conférences, groupes, hors les murs 
En savoir plus

Toulon – visite-atelier autour de l’exposition temporaire

Le dimanche 17 novembre de 15h à 16h30
En savoir plus

Toulon – Cycle de conférences

Conférence autour de l'exposition samedi 7 décembre 
En savoir plus

Agenda des musées

L'actualité des musées nationaux de la Marine.

Programmation à Toulon

Programme individuels et groupes
En savoir plus