Toulon - History Museum

The museum aims to explain how Toulon became the largest military port in the Mediterranean basin from the reign of Lou

The Navy National Museum:

A museum built around its door ...

© MnM / Navy

The creation of the museum in Toulon

Established since 1981, next to the clock tower is one of the few historical sites in the city to have survived World War II.
The museum illustrates the history and the implantation of the French navy in Toulon by an exceptional collection of models of ships, paintings and archives which testify to the importance and the influence of the military port on the city.

The memory of the arsenal, essential to the development of the city

Today, the arsenal is not known well but Base Defense Toulon. It is a key economic player in the Toulon region, employing more than 20 000 people. His famous shipyard located in La Seyne sur Mer also employed thousands of people since its creation in 1711 until its final closure in 1987.

The Toulon military naval base is the most important city in the city and is the largest in France and houses two thirds of French vessels, including the aircraft carrier Charles-de-Gaulle and PCBs Mistral et Thunder. The second French port is on the Atlantic Ocean side, in the city of Brest.

The museum aims to explain how Toulon became the largest military port in the Mediterranean basin from the reign of Louis XIV until today. As soon 1710 Vauban gave the city an arsenal of 20 hectares that will continue to grow over the centuries until the current area of ​​270 hectares.

The facade of the museum

Completed in 1738, the ancient gateway to Toulon Arsenal entrance is an architectural treasure. At a height of 15 meters, its monumental dimensions are perfectly balanced to protect the military port. It is overlooked by two statues representing the gods of war Mars and Minerva.
The door is classified in 1910, then moved from 90 ° to 1976 in order to welcome the visitors of the museum inaugurated in 1981. This impressive site remains engraved in the memory of the people of Toulon who do not fail to recall this moment as an anecdote of the city.
In addition to admire during your visit, here are some exclusive images of moving.

Navy Museum, Toulon

The museum retraces the history of the arsenal of Toulon and welcomes its visitors by the former monumental gate of the arsenal.

Brest - History Museum

How the ancient Gallo-Roman Castellum became a walled city before ducal castle?

More details

Paris - History Museum

Located between the Louvre and 1748 1938, the museum has been housed in a historic building, the Palais de Chaillot.

More details

Port Louis - History of the museum

The Citadel is an imposing building, marked by the events of Breton history of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

More details

Rochefort - History Museum

Housed in a mansion of the seventeenth century, the Hotel de Cheusses, named after the last lord of the manor of Rochefort.

More details

Rochefort - History of Naval medical school

Founded in 1722, is the first naval school of surgery in the world.

More details

Toulon - Histoire du musée

Le musée tend à expliquer comment Toulon est devenu le plus grand port militaire du bassin  méditerranéen à partir du règne de Lou

Le Musée national de la Marine :

Un musée construit autour de sa porte…

© MnM / Marine nationale

La création du musée à Toulon

Installé depuis 1981, à côté de la tour de l’horloge, c’est l’un des rares sites historiques de la ville à avoir survécu à la seconde guerre mondiale.
Le musée illustre l’Histoire et l’implantation de la marine française à Toulon par une exceptionnelle collection de maquettes de navires, de peintureset d’archives qui témoignent de l’importance et l’influence du port militaire sur la ville.

La mémoire de l’arsenal, essentiel au développement de la ville

Aujourd’hui, l’arsenal n’est plus appelé ainsi mais Base de Défense de Toulon. C’est un acteur économique essentiel pour la région toulonnaise, qui emploie plus de 20 000 personnes. Son célèbre chantier situé à La Seyne sur Mer a également employé des milliers de personnes dès sa création en 1711 jusqu’à sa fermeture définitive en 1987.

Véritable ville dans la ville, la base navale militaire de Toulon est la plus importante en France et accueille deux tiers des bâtiments français dont le porte-avions Charles-de-Gaulle et les BPC Mistral et Tonnerre. Le second port français se trouve du côté de l’océan Atlantique, dans la ville de Brest.

Le musée tend à expliquer comment Toulon est devenu le plus grand port militaire du bassin  méditerranéen à partir du règne de Louis XIV jusqu’à aujourd’hui. En effet, dès 1710, Vauban dote la ville d’un arsenal de 20 hectares qui ne cessera de s’agrandir au fil des siècles jusqu’à atteindre la superficie actuelle de 270 hectares.

La Façade du musée

Achevée en 1738, l'ancienne porte d'entrée de l'Arsenal de Toulon ‬est un véritable trésor architectural. D'une hauteur de 15 mètres, ses dimensions monumentales sont parfaitement équilibrées pour protéger le port militaire. Elle est surplombée de deux statues représentant les dieux de la guerre : Mars et Minerve.
La porte est classée en 1910, puis déplacée de 90° en 1976 afin d'accueillir les visiteurs du musée inauguré en 1981. Ce chantier impressionnant reste gravé dans la mémoire des toulonnais qui ne manquent pas de rappeler ce moment comme une anecdote de la ville.
En plus de pouvoir l'admirer lors de votre visite, voici quelques images exclusives de son déplacement.

Musée de la Marine, Toulon

Le musée retrace l’histoire de l’arsenal de Toulon et accueille ses visiteurs par l’ancienne porte monumentale de l’arsenal.

Brest - Histoire du musée

Comment l’antique castellum gallo-romain devint une ville fortifiée avant d’être château ducal ?

En savoir plus

Paris - Histoire du musée

Installé au Louvre entre 1748 et 1938, le musée est depuis abrité dans un édifice historique, le Palais de Chaillot.

En savoir plus

Port-Louis - Histoire du musée

La citadelle est un édifice imposant, marqué par les événements de l’histoire bretonne des XVIe et XVIIe siècles.

En savoir plus

Rochefort - Histoire du musée

Installé dans un hôtel particulier du XVIIe siècle, l’Hôtel de Cheusses, du nom du dernier seigneur de la châtellenie de Rochefort.

En savoir plus

Rochefort - Histoire de l'école de médecine navale

Fondée en 1722, c’est la première école de chirurgie navale au monde.

En savoir plus