Rochefort - Marine Museum

Housed in the hotel Cheusses, the museum has a central role as a player in local cultural life.

© National Maritime Museum / P.Mathieu

Hotel de Cheusses

The exceptional collections presented in the former residence of Commanders of the Navy engaged the indispensable key to understanding the great arsenal wanted by Colbert and modified continually until today.

The construction of warships is highlighted in all its dimensions: technical, military, economic, urban, visual, philosophical and also open to the imaginary voyages. arsenals models, tools, paintings, sculptures tell the story of a space of state experimental arsenal of the French Navy.

The maritime arsenal of Rochefort is today a heritage area of ​​European importance. Several actors contribute today to revive it: Hermione, Corderie Royal, Heritage and Museums Department of the City, School of Naval Medicine, Historical Defense Service. All are complementary and invite to a rich and varied visit. Within this network, where the exchanges are numerous, the Navy Museum relies on the richness of its collections: all the objects coming from the arsenal are considered as so many witnesses who tell their stories, our history.

The museum collections

The Department of Conservation has to manage mission, study and enrichment of the Navy National Museum collections.

Learn more

Rochefort - History Museum

Housed in a mansion of the seventeenth century, the Hotel de Cheusses, named after the last lord of the manor of Rochefort.

Learn more

Rochefort - Practical Information

The museum is open every day from 10h to 19h. The museum is open on monday 10 june.

Learn more

Rochefort - Former Naval Medical School

Location powerful and moving the school stands today as it was in the mid nineteenth century.

Rochefort - Musée de la Marine

Installé dans l’hôtel de Cheusses, le musée a un rôle d'acteur central de la vie culturelle locale.

© musée national de la Marine/P.Mathieu

 

L’Hôtel de Cheusses

Les collections exceptionnelles présentées dans l’ancienne résidence des Commandants de la marine livrent les clés indispensables à la compréhension du grand arsenal voulu par Colbert, et modifié sans cesse jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

La construction des navires de guerre y est mis en valeur dans toutes ses dimensions : techniques, militaires, économiques, urbaine, plastiques, philosophiques et ouvrent également sur l'imaginaire des voyages au long cours. Modèles d’arsenaux, outils, tableaux, sculptures racontent l’histoire d’un espace d’Etat, arsenal expérimental de la Marine française.

L’arsenal maritime de Rochefort est aujourd’hui un espace patrimonial d’importance européenne. Plusieurs acteurs contribuent aujourd’hui à le faire revivre : Hermione, Corderie royale, Service patrimoine et musées de la Ville, Ecole de médecine navale, Service Historique de la Défense. Tous sont complémentaires et invitent à une visite riche et variée. Au sein de ce réseau, où les échanges sont nombreux, le musée de la Marine s’appuie sur la richesse de ses collections : tous les objets provenant de l’arsenal y sont considérés comme autant de témoins qui racontent leurs histoires, notre histoire.

Les collections du musée

Le département de la Conservation a pour mission la gestion, l’étude et l’enrichissement des collections du musée national de la Marine.

En savoir plus

Rochefort - Histoire du musée

Installé dans un hôtel particulier du XVIIe siècle, l’Hôtel de Cheusses, du nom du dernier seigneur de la châtellenie de Rochefort.

En savoir plus

Rochefort - Informations pratiques

1er octobre au 31 mars : 13h30-18h00 ​ouverture tous les jours sauf le mardi. Fermé en janvier.
 

En savoir plus

Rochefort - Ancienne école de médecine navale

Lieu fort et émouvant l'école se présente aujourd'hui telle qu'elle était au milieu du XIXe siècle.