Rochefort - The bicentennial of the Medusa

Visits flash, theater, concert, inter-museum course.

Artists inspired

© National Museum Navy

Bicentenary of the Medusa


The "Raft of the Medusa", which Theodore Géricault presents at 1819, is today one of the most famous paintings in the world. We know less that this image of suffering and universal hope is directly inspired by a true story, that of the frigate the "Medusa", part of Rochefort for Senegal and stranded off the coast of Africa in July 1816. Human drama, the "Medusa" is also a political scandal at the time of the return of Louis XVIII and a major moment in the history of art. Rochefort, former naval arsenal, plays a leading role in this famous affair. The bicentenary is the occasion to bring it back into the local memory by multiplying the approaches.

The shooting of a documentary film for Arte in 2014, in collaboration with the Marine Museum, was an opportunity to revisit the whole adventure and build a replica on the 1 scale of the most famous raft of the " history.

A real storytelling machine, this raft is also a scene, set up in the museum's courtyard in Rochefort, open to all modes of expression. It is in this spirit that the museum approaches the bicentenary of the event, opening wide the door to all those that the Medusa inspires, and they are numerous!

Useful information

Information and reservations

Such. 05 46 99 86 57
rochefort@musee-marine.fr

Rochefort - Practical Information

All our museums are closed until further notice

Learn more

Rochefort - Artists in residence

Rochefort

Rochefort - The nights of the arsenal

Every Monday of the summer, the sites of the Arsenal of Rochefort accomodate you up to 23h
Learn more

Rochefort - museum - The cantiniere and the pasha.

Theatrical tours on the raft. Reserved for the group.
Learn more

Agenda museums

News Marine National Museums.

Rochefort - Le bicentenaire de la Méduse

Visites flash, théatre, concert, parcours inter-musée.

Des artistes inspirés

© musée national de la Marine

Bicentenaire de la Méduse


Le « Radeau de la Méduse », que Théodore Géricault présente au salon de 1819, est aujourd’hui l’un de tableaux les plus célèbres du monde. On sait moins que cette image de souffrance et d’espoir universel est directement inspirée d’une histoire vraie, celle de la frégate la « Méduse », partie de Rochefort pour le Sénégal et échouée au large des côtes d’Afrique en juillet 1816. Drame humain, la « Méduse » est aussi un scandale politique au moment du retour de Louis XVIII et un moment majeur de l’histoire de l’art. Rochefort, ancien arsenal de la marine, joue un rôle de premier plan dans cette célèbre affaire. Le bicentenaire est l’occasion de la faire revenir dans la mémoire locale en multipliant les approches.

Le tournage d’un film documentaire pour Arte en 2014, en collaboration avec le musée de la Marine, a été l’occasion de revenir sur toute l’aventure et de construire une réplique à l’échelle 1 du plus fameux radeau de l’histoire.

Véritable machine à raconter l’histoire, ce radeau est aussi une scène, installée dans la cour du musée à Rochefort, ouverte à tous les modes d’expression. C’est dans cet état d’esprit que le musée aborde le bicentenaire de l’événement, en ouvrant grand la porte à tous ceux que la Méduse inspire, et ils sont nombreux !

Informations pratiques

Informations et réservations

Tél. 05 46 99 86 57
rochefort@musee-marine.fr

Rochefort - Informations pratiques

Ouvert de 13h30 à 18h00 tous les jours sauf le mardi

En savoir plus

Rochefort - Musée - La Méduse, une affaire d’artiste [ exposition ]

La création contemporaine explore le radeau de la Méduse du 20 mai au 18 septembre.
En savoir plus

Rochefort - Parcours Archives du SHD

Présentation dans le parcours permanent du musée d'une sélection du fonds d’archives du service historique de la Défense à Rochefort.
 
 
En savoir plus

Rochefort - musée - La cantinière et le pacha.

Visites théâtralisées sur le radeau. Réservée au groupe.
En savoir plus

Agenda des musées

L'actualité des musées nationaux de la Marine.