Razzle Dazzle, art counterattack!

20 October 2017 - 31 December 2018

A subject as little known as surprising: camouflage Razzle Dazzle

exhibition au

As part of the 14-18 Centenary, the National Museum of the Navy in Brest presents its new exhibition with the enigmatic title: "Razzle Dazzle, art counterattack! ".

Around the commemorations of the landing of the Americans in Brest in 1917, this exhibition presents a subject as little known as surprising: the Razzle Dazzle camouflage (dazzling, blinding, gliding) ships during the First World War.

In November 1917, the first convoys disembarked the American troops in Brest. They will soon 1 million to transit through the city of Ponant. Mauritania, Olympic, Leviathan ... the requisitioned ships cross the Atlantic made up with strange frescoes that give them an air of zebra or harlequin. With terrestrial camouflage, Razzle Dazzle is perhaps the most unusual innovation of the Great War: submarine, airplane, tank ... Based on the principle of optical illusions, it aims to deceive the sub enemy marines by creating false perspective effects in order to make it difficult to calculate the course and the speed. This painting with abstract and geometrical motifs is inspired by Cubism; it is created by artists mobilized.

To present this subject, the National Museum of the Navy, compares one hundred original works with the contemporary creations of the collective XYZ. In residence at the castle, and 100 years after the artists who initiated it, the plastic artists Guillaume Duval and Jean-Baptiste Moal transport us in the graphic and colorful world of Razzle Dazzle.

The XYZ collective

XYZ is a collective of visual artists founded in 2013 by Jean-Baptiste Moal (X) and Guillaume Duval (Y), who are the pilots. They collaborate regularly with other people or organizations who act as tellers, agitators of the initial structure and complement creative possibilities. The third angle of this variable geometry is Z.
Their work consists of a contemporary plastic approach to historical, patrimonial and societal elements. They act like a kaleidoscope in multiple fields of research: typography, illustration, comics, painting, installation, exhibition, design, editing and graphics. They have been exploring the subject of dazzle painting for several years

More from 300 high school students mobilized

As part of the exhibition, the museum works with students from two technical high schools in the Brest region.

A large-scale partnership has been set up with the Lycée Dupuy de Lôme (Brest) where 300 students from various fields (technical, general, ULIS) are associated with the project. The aim is to enable them to understand the variety of occupations and actions associated with the design of an exhibition. They participate in the preparation of the scenography, the animation of workshops for children and the promotion of the exhibition in the urban space by creating frescos and sculptures inspired by the museum's collections. These actions will also enable them to discover the themes and issues of this period of history.

A class at the Lycée de l'Elorn in Landerneau has realized a part of the stage furniture: showcases, interactive devices ...

Commissioner:

Jean-Yves Besselièvre, administrator of the Musée national de la Marine in Brest
Lenaïg L'Aot-Lombart, mediation assistant.

Commissariat artistique:
Guillaume DUVAL and Jean-Baptiste MOAL, plastic artists of the collective XYZ

Associate Commissioner:
Cécile DUPRÉ, heritage curator at the Musée national de la Marine


 

Useful information

Price:

Full price: 6 * euros
Reduced price: 4,50 * euros
Free: - from 26 years of the UEE
* audioguide included, supplement of 2 € for the visitors benefiting from the free entry.
Entrance fees include access to the permanent collections and the temporary exhibition

Hours :

April-September: daily from 10h to 18h30 except the 01 / 05
October-March: daily from 13h30 to 18h30 except Tuesdays (except school holidays), 25 / 12 and 01 / 01
Annual closure in January according to school holidays

 

On the way.
Eugène-Louis Gillot (1867-1925)
© National Museum of the Navy / S.Dondain

Information and reservations:

Such. 02 98 22 12 39 (the museum's opening hours)

 

Brest - Practical Information

Annual closing of the 8 January to 9 February 2018 included

Learn More

Brest - ZigZag the zebra [visit story 4-6 years, expo]

Thursday 4 January 14h30
 
Learn More

Brest - ZigZag unwrapped '[workshop visit, exhibition]

Wednesday 15 November, Wednesday 6 December to 14h30.
Learn More

Brest - Boats clowns [workshop child, exhibition]

Saturday 18 November and Wednesday 03 January at 14h30.
Learn More

Brest - Art counter-attack! [visit game 7-12 years, expo]

Tuesday 26 December and 2 January
Learn More

Agenda museums

News Marine National Museums.

Razzle Dazzle, l’art contre-attaque !

20 octobre 2017 – 31 décembre 2018

Un sujet aussi méconnu que surprenant : le camouflage Razzle Dazzle

Exposition du au

Dans le cadre du Centenaire 14-18, le musée national de la Marine à Brest présente sa nouvelle exposition au titre énigmatique : « Razzle Dazzle, l’art contre-attaque ! ».

Autour des commémorations du débarquement des Américains à Brest en 1917, cette exposition présente un sujet aussi méconnu que surprenant : le camouflage Razzle Dazzle (éblouissant, aveuglant, tape à l’œil) des navires pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

En novembre 1917, les premiers convois débarquent les troupes américaines à Brest. Ils seront bientôt 1 million à transiter par la cité du Ponant. Mauritania, Olympic, Leviathan… les navires réquisitionnés traversent l’Atlantique fardés d’étranges fresques qui leur confèrent un air de zèbre ou d’arlequin. Avec le camouflage terrestre, le Razzle Dazzle est peut être l’innovation la plus insolite de la Grande Guerre : sous-marin, avion, char... Basée sur le principe des illusions d'optiques, elle a pour objectif de tromper les sous-marins ennemis en créant de faux effets de perspective afin de rendre difficile le calcul du cap et de la vitesse. Cette peinture aux motifs abstraits et géométriques est inspirée du cubisme ; elle est créée par des artistes mobilisés.

Pour présenter ce sujet, le musée national de la Marine, met en regard une centaine d’œuvres originales avec les créations contemporaines du collectif XYZ. En résidence au château, et 100 ans après les artistes qui l’initièrent, les plasticiens Guillaume Duval et Jean-Baptiste Moal nous transportent dans l’univers graphique et coloré du Razzle Dazzle.

Le collectif XYZ

XYZ est un collectif de plasticiens fondé en 2013 par Jean-Baptiste Moal (X) et Guillaume Duval (Y), qui en sont les pilotes. Ils collaborent régulièrement avec d'autres personnes ou organisations qui agissent comme révélateurs, agitateurs de la structure initiale et complètent les possibilités créatives. Le troisième angle de cette géométrie variable est Z.
Leur travail consiste en une approche plastique contemporaine d'éléments historiques, patrimoniaux et sociétaux. Ils agissent, tel un kaléidoscope, dans des domaines de recherches multiples : typographie, illustration, bande dessinée, peinture, installation, exposition, design, édition et graphisme. Ils explorent le sujet du dazzle painting depuis plusieurs années

Plus de 300 lycéens mobilisés

Dans le cadre de l’exposition, le musée travaille avec les élèves de deux lycées techniques de la région brestoise.

Un partenariat de grande envergure a été monté avec le Lycée Dupuy de Lôme (Brest) où 300 élèves de différentes filières (technique, générale, ULIS) sont associés au projet. L’objectif est de leur permettre d’appréhender la variété des métiers et des actions qui s’associent lors de la conception d’une exposition. Ils participent ainsi à la préparation de la scénographie, à l’animation d’ateliers pour enfants et à la promotion de l’exposition dans l’espace urbain en créant des fresques et sculptures inspirées des collections du musée. Ces actions leur permettront également de découvrir les thématiques et problématiques de cette période de l’histoire.

Une classe du Lycée de l’Elorn à Landerneau a réalisé une partie du mobilier scénographique : vitrines, dispositifs interactifs…

Commissariat : 

Jean-Yves Besselièvre, administrateur du musée national de la Marine à Brest
Lénaïg L’Aot-Lombart, adjointe chargée de médiation. 

Commissariat artistique :
Guillaume DUVAL et Jean-Baptiste MOAL, plasticiens du collectif XYZ

Commissaire associé :
Cécile DUPRÉ, conservatrice du patrimoine au musée national de la Marine


 

Informations pratiques

Tarif : 

Plein tarif : 6* euros
Tarif réduit : 4,50* euros
Gratuit : – de 26 ans de l’UEE
* audioguide inclus, supplément de 2 € pour les visiteurs bénéficiant de la gratuité d’entrée.
Les droits d’entrée comprennent l’accès aux collections permanentes et à l’exposition temporaire

Horaires :

Avril-septembre : tous les jours de 10h à 18h30 sauf le 01/05
Octobre-mars : tous les jours de 13h30 à 18h30 sauf le mardi (hors vacances scolaires), le 25/12 et 01/01
Fermeture annuelle en janvier selon les vacances scolaires

 

En route.
Eugène-Louis Gillot (1867-1925)
© Musée national de la Marine/S.Dondain

Informations et réservations :

Tél. 02 98 22 12 39 (aux horaires d’ouverture du musée)

 

Brest - Informations pratiques

Ouvert tous les jours sauf le mardi (hors vacances scolaires de la zone B) 13h30 – 18h30

En savoir plus

Brest - ZigZag le zèbre [ visite contée 4-6 ans, expo ]

Jeudi 4 janvier 14h30
 
En savoir plus

Brest - ZigZag se déguiz’ [ visite atelier, expo ]

Mercredi 15 novembre, mercredi 6 décembre à 14h30.
En savoir plus

Brest - Bateaux clowns [ atelier enfant, expo ]

Samedi 18 novembre et mercredi 03 janvier à 14h30.
En savoir plus

Brest - L’art contre-attaque ! [visite jeu 7-12 ans, expo ]

Mardis 26 décembre et 2 janvier
En savoir plus

Agenda des musées

L'actualité des musées nationaux de la Marine.