Port Louis - History of the museum

On the shores of the Atlantic Ocean, the citadel of Port Louis is strategically located at the entrance of Lorient harbor.

© Navy

Built on a rocky escarpment, the citadel of Port Louis is an imposing building marked by the history of Britain.
At the end of the XVIe century, the Duke of Mercoeur, then governor of Britain, rebelled against Henry IV to become king because it was converted to the Catholic religion. To combat it, Mercoeur uses Spanish troops who, 1590, landed in Blavet old name of the city of Port Louis. These troops are mainly composed of mercenaries who plunder the country blavétin. They built a fort which ensures their protection from retaliation. The first building in the shape of half-moon concluded in 1591.

In 1598 the fortress is partially demolished. Twenty years later, the king's engineers examine the value of the square. His defensive qualities are such that Louis XIII actually a royal symbol: the village of Blavet was renamed Port Louis, the Citadel was rebuilt and the construction of new bastions gives it an appearance similar to the current one.

In 1666, the French East India Company sets up in Port Louis. The city houses the headquarters of the Royal Navy and the homes of aristocrats and officers. The citadel is considered an outpost in the defense of the harbor. The few changes it undergoes during this period allow it to withstand a siege: cisterns, wells and vegetable gardens are landscaped in the eighteenthe century.

Until the early twentiethe century, the citadel will be used to defend the harbor, then it will be assigned to monitoring maritime traffic. The last soldiers leave the area in 2007.

This fortress whose ramparts are now open to visitors, offering a panorama of the Ile de Croix and Lorient harbor. It also houses two museums: the rooms of the National Maritime Museum take visitors in the wake of sea rescuers and the tour continues on the history of long-distance trade: guns, sextants, porcelain, and other fabulous items along the way . The journey then continues at the Museum of the East India Company, whose collections evoke the rich exchanges with Asia.

Port Louis - Marine Museum

Located on the Atlantic entrance of the Narrows, which controls the port of Lorient, the citadel of Port Louis is a fascinating site.

Paris - History Museum

Located between the Louvre and 1748 1938, the museum has been housed in a historic building, the Palais de Chaillot.

More details

Brest - History Museum

How the ancient Gallo-Roman Castellum became a walled city before ducal castle?

More details

Rochefort - History Museum

Housed in a mansion of the seventeenth century, the Hotel de Cheusses, named after the last lord of the manor of Rochefort.

More details

Rochefort - History of Naval medical school

Founded in 1722, is the first naval school of surgery in the world.

More details

Toulon - History Museum

The museum traces the history of Toulon's arsenal, from Louis XIV to become the largest military port in the Mediterranean basin

More details

Port-Louis - Histoire du musée

Sur les rives de l’Océan Atlantique, la citadelle de Port-Louis occupe une position stratégique à l’entrée de la rade de Lorient.

© Marine nationale

 

Bâtie sur un escarpement rocheux, la citadelle de Port-Louis est un édifice imposant marqué par l’histoire de la Bretagne.
A la fin du XVIe siècle, le duc de Mercœur, alors gouverneur de Bretagne,  se révolte contre Henri IV car pour devenir roi ce dernier s’est converti à la religion catholique. Pour le combattre, Mercoeur fait appel à des troupes espagnoles qui, en 1590, débarquent à Blavet, ancien nom de la ville de Port-Louis. Ces troupes sont composées essentiellement de mercenaires qui pillent le pays blavétin. Ils construisent un fort qui leur assure une protection en cas de représailles. Ce premier édifice en forme de demi-lune est achevé en 1591.

En 1598, la forteresse est partiellement démolie. Vingt ans plus tard, les ingénieurs du roi examinent la valeur de la place. Ses qualités défensives sont telles que Louis XIII en fait un symbole royal : le bourg de Blavet est alors rebaptisé Port-Louis, la citadelle est reconstruite et l’édification de nouveaux bastions lui confère un aspect proche de l’actuel.

En 1666, la Compagnie française des Indes Orientales s’implante à Port-Louis. La ville abrite le siège de la Marine Royale ainsi que les habitations des aristocrates et des officiers. La citadelle est considérée comme un poste avancé dans la défense de la rade. Les quelques modifications qu’elle subit pendant cette période lui permettent de soutenir un siège : citernes, puits et jardins potagers sont aménagés au XVIIIe siècle.

Jusqu’au début du XXe siècle, la citadelle va servir à la défense de la rade, puis elle sera affectée à la surveillance du trafic maritime. Les derniers militaires quittent les lieux en 2007.

Cette forteresse dont les remparts sont désormais ouverts à la visite, offre un panorama grandiose sur l’Ile de Groix et sur la rade de Lorient. Elle abrite également deux musées : les salles du Musée national de la Marine entrainent les visiteurs dans le sillage des sauveteurs en mer puis la visite se poursuit sur l’histoire du commerce lointain : canons, sextants, porcelaines, et autres objets fabuleux jalonnent le parcours. Le voyage se poursuit ensuite au musée de la Compagnie des Indes dont les collections évoquent la richesse des échanges avec l’Asie.

Port-Louis - Musée de la Marine

Située sur l’Atlantique à l’entrée du goulet qui commande le port de Lorient, la citadelle de Port-Louis est un site fascinant.

Paris - Histoire du musée

Installé au Louvre entre 1748 et 1938, le musée est depuis abrité dans un édifice historique, le Palais de Chaillot.

En savoir plus

Brest - Histoire du musée

Comment l’antique castellum gallo-romain devint une ville fortifiée avant d’être château ducal ?

En savoir plus

Rochefort - Histoire du musée

Installé dans un hôtel particulier du XVIIe siècle, l’Hôtel de Cheusses, du nom du dernier seigneur de la châtellenie de Rochefort.

En savoir plus

Rochefort - Histoire de l'école de médecine navale

Fondée en 1722, c’est la première école de chirurgie navale au monde.

En savoir plus

Toulon - Histoire du musée

Le musée tend à expliquer comment Toulon est devenu le plus grand port militaire du bassin  méditerranéen à partir du règne de Lou

En savoir plus