Past exhibition - The journey of the obelisk

Exhibition The journey of the obelisk: Luxor / Paris (1829-1836) 12 February - 6 July 2014

an extraordinary adventure

In ancient Egypt, the Pharaohs had two obelisks erected at the entrance of their temples, on which were engraved their exploits and their homage to the gods, chiefly Amon, god of the sun. A petrified sunbeam, the obelisk was the point of contact between the world of the gods and that of men.

The two obelisks built during the reign of Ramses II at the entrance to the temple of Luxor in the 13th century BC. AD, were offered to France by the viceroy of Egypt in 1830. the Western obelisk, which was chosen to be transported to Paris, measures 22,84m and weighs between 220 and 230 tons.

Carrying the obelisk was the occasion of a human adventure rich in twists that lasted nearly seven years to bring it down without breaking it, to go down the Nile, to cross the Mediterranean and the Atlantic Ocean in tow, to go up the Seine and to erect this monolith in the center of Paris.

These operations, which many thought impossible at the time, were conducted essentially by men's arms and without modern machines.

Among the men who contributed to this challenge were the figures of Champollion, the origin of the obelisk gift, the lieutenant of Joannis' ship - whose drawings, realized during the stay in Egypt, are testimonies of the first and the engineer of the Navy, Apollinaire Lebas, who calculated and designed the machines. In Luxor, Brittany and Paris, he directed all the operations of displacement of the obelisk and its pedestal before being appointed to the post of curator of the Naval Museum in 1836 in thanks for his talents.

Erection of the Luxor Obelisk, 25 October 1836, details, watercolor. Cayrac, 1837
Museum of the Louvre © Musée national de la Marine / P. Dantec

The mysteries of the obelisk at the National Maritime Museum

All these adventures come to life through varied works, often unpublished and never combined - paintings, original plans, drawings, models, dioramas of the various operations, archaeological objects and documents - illustrating the highlights of this incredible epic which culminated in 1836 in the heart of one of the most beautiful squares in Paris.

Application "The obelisk's journey" [download]

Learn more

The press speaks about it [journey of the obelisk]

Learn more

Exposition passée - Le voyage de l'obélisque

Exposition Le voyage de l'obélisque : Louxor / Paris (1829-1836) 12 février - 6 juillet 2014

 

Une aventure hors du commun

Dans l’égypte ancienne, les pharaons faisaient ériger à l’entrée de leurs temples, deux obélisques sur lesquels étaient gravés leurs exploits et leurs hommages aux dieux, principalement Amon, dieu du soleil. Rayon de soleil pétrifié, l’obélisque était le point de contact entre le monde des dieux et celui des hommes.

Les deux obélisques édifiés sous le règne de Ramsès II à l’entrée du temple de Louxor au XIIIe siècle av. J.-C., furent offerts à la France par le vice-roi d’Égypte en 1830. l’obélisque occidental, celui qui fut choisi pour être transporté à Paris, mesure 22,84m et pèse entre 220 et 230 tonnes.

Transporter l'obélisque fut l’occasion d’une aventure humaine riche en rebondissements qui dura près de sept ans pour l’abattre sans le briser, descendre le Nil, traverser en remorque la Méditerranée et l’océan Atlantique, remonter la Seine et ériger ce monolithe au centre de Paris.

Ces opérations, que beaucoup pensaient impossibles à l’époque, furent conduites essentiellement à bras d’hommes et sans machines modernes.

Parmi les hommes qui contribuèrent à relever ce défi, se détachent les figures de Champollion, à l’origine du don des obélisques, du lieutenant de vaisseau de Joannis - dont les dessins, réalisés au cours du séjour en Egypte, sont des témoignages de premier ordre - et de l’ingénieur de la Marine, Apollinaire Lebas qui calcula et conçut les machines. Il dirigea à Louxor, en Bretagne et à Paris toutes les opérations de déplacement de l’obélisque et de son piédestal, avant d’être nommé au poste de conservateur du musée de la Marine en 1836 en remerciement de ses talents.

 

 

Érection de l’Obélisque de Louxor,25 octobre 1836, détails, aquarelle. Cayrac, 1837
Dépôt du musée du Louvre© Musée national de la Marine/P. Dantec

 

Les mystères de l’obélisque au musée national de la Marine

Toutes ces péripéties reprennent vie au travers d’oeuvres variées, souvent inédites et jamais réunies - tableaux, plans originaux, dessins, maquettes, dioramas des différentes opérations, objets archéologiques et documents - illustrant les moments forts de cette incroyable épopée qui trouva son aboutissement en 1836 au coeur d’une des plus belles places de Paris.

 

 

Application "Le voyage de l'obélisque" [ a télécharger ]

 

 
En savoir plus

La presse en parle [ voyage de l'obélisque ]

 
 
 
En savoir plus